Search tips for databases, book catalogs and even Google
Works by MFA faculty in SNC Library
This is the "RSS Feeds & Other Good Stuff" page of the "Library Resources for Creative Writing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Resources for Creative Writing   Tags: articles, books, catalog, databases, faculty, library, literary criticism, literature, reference, research, resources, searching  

Last Updated: Dec 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sierranevada.edu/MFA Print Guide RSS Updates

RSS Feeds & Other Good Stuff Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keeping Up

From any EBSCO database such as Academic Search Premier, or Literary Reference Center,  you may set up a free account.

To set up a free account with EBSCO, click on Sign In on the top tool bar of any EBSCO database and follow the easy steps.  

With an EBSCO account you may:

  • Save your research in folders
  • Share your folders with others or access them from other locations
  • Save and retrieve your search history
  • Create email alerts and/or RSS feeds to let you knowwhen new articles about your topic are published
  • Access to your saved from other locations or other EBSCO databases.
 

RSS Feeds

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Information updates: RSS Feeds Quick & Simple

You can sign up to get updates on information of ongoing interest to you, using RSS feeds.  What's an RSS feed?  Watch this short video to find out.

 

Poet Laureate, 2012-2013 - Natasha Trethewey

June 7, 2012

Librarian of Congress Appoints Natasha Trethewey Poet Laureate

Librarian of Congress James H. Billington today announced the appointment of Natasha Trethewey as the Library’s Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry for 2012-2013.

Trethewey, the 19th Poet Laureate, will take up her duties in the fall, opening the Library’s annual literary season with a reading of her work on Thursday, September 13 in the Coolidge Auditorium. Her term will coincide with the 75th anniversary of the Library’s Poetry and Literature Center and the 1937 establishment of the Consultant-in-Poetry position, which was changed by a federal law in 1986 to Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry.

"Natasha Trethewey is an outstanding poet/historian in the mold of Robert Penn Warren, our first Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry," Billington said. "Her poems dig beneath the surface of history—personal or communal, from childhood or from a century ago—to explore the human struggles that we all face."

Trethewey succeeds Philip Levine as Poet Laureate and joins a long line of distinguished poets who have served in the position including W. S. Merwin, Kay Ryan, Charles Simic, Donald Hall, Ted Kooser, Louise Glück, Billy Collins, Stanley Kunitz, Robert Pinsky, Robert Hass, and Rita Dove.

She is the author of three poetry collections, including "Native Guard," (2006), winner of the 2007 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry; "Bellocq’s Ophelia" (2002); and "Domestic Work" (2000). Her newest collection of poems, "Thrall," is forthcoming from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt in 2012. Trethewey is the author of a nonfiction book, "Beyond Katrina: A Meditation on the Mississippi Gulf Coast" (2010).

 

NYT Books Podcast

 Sam Tanenhaus, editor of the Book Review, talks with authors, editors & critics about new books. 

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Paris Review Author Interviews

The Paris Review now provides free access to all of its author interviews. The complete archive of author interviews begins in 1953 with "E. M. Forster, The Art of Fiction No. 1.    The collection can be browsed by name or by decade.

Paris Review Author Interviews

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip