Search tips for databases, book catalogs and even Google
Works by MFA faculty in SNC Library
This is the "Scholarly Journals & Article Databases" page of the "Library Resources for Creative Writing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Resources for Creative Writing   Tags: articles, books, catalog, databases, faculty, library, literary criticism, literature, reference, research, resources, searching  

Last Updated: Dec 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sierranevada.edu/MFA Print Guide RSS Updates

Scholarly Journals & Article Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Accessing a Copy of an Article

Once you have located a citation for an article in a database, there are several ways to get a copy of the article.

1. If you're lucky, there will be a link to the full-text article right below the citation in your search results. The link may be to a PDF or HTML copy, or it may link you to the publisher's web site.

2. Look for the link that says I Want to Request this Article or Chapter through Interlibrary Loan. Click on the link to fill out the form with your contact information.  Click "Submit" and the request will come to the library so that we can locate the full-text for you.  We will send the article via email to you usually within 1-3 days.  There is no cost for this service.

      

    MLA Directory of Periodicals

    Open Access Database

     

    "The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact." Over 3000 journals are housed at the DOAJ. The journals are either peer-reviewed or editorially monitored.

    Article Databases for Literature

    In order to access from off campus you will be prompted to log in.

    • Literary Reference Center (Ebsco)
      Literary Reference Center (Ebsco) is a comprehensive literary reference database that provides a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a completely full-text but you can NOT limit to scholarly journals.
     

    Literary Reference Center Tutorial

    Multi-Disciplinary Databases

    • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
      This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
    • LexisNexis Academic
      LexisNexis Academic provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text. The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

      Google Scholar (AU free access to subscription articles)

    This searches across many scholarly Internet sources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles.  Google Scholar is especially useful for tracking down or verifying difficult or partial citations. 

    Typically one encounters a fee for accessing articles in Google Scholar or other search engines.

    Google Scholar (or quick search below)



    Selected Scholarly Journals

    The majority of these journals have been drawn from our databases. You will be prompted to log in after you click on the journal link.

     

    • Marvels & Tales
      A peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary journal that publishes scholarly work dealing with the fairy tale in any of its diverse manifestations and contexts. .
    • Origins of African American Literature: A History of the African American Literary Presence
      A revelation of the emergence and sources of the specifically African American literary tradition and the forces that helped shape it; demonstrates just how much writers engaged in a surprising number of dialogues with society as a whole.
    • American Scholar
      Focuses on American literature, presenting essays on topics relating to literature, authors and poets, and including poetry and book reviews.
    • Biography
      "Biography features stimulating articles that explore the theoretical, generic, historical, and cultural dimensions of life-writing; and the integration of litererature, history, the arts, and the social sciences as they relate to biography."
    • Camera Obscura
      Feminist takes on film, literature, media. Special focus on race studies, queer studies and post colonial studies.
    • History and Memory
      the role of memory in modern and premodern cultures..also the role of oral history and personal narratives...
    • Journal of Modern Literature
      ...Widely recognized as the journal of record for modern literature.
    • Journal of Narrative Theory
      JNT publishes essays addressing the epistemological, global, historical, formal, and political dimensions of narrative... .
    • Literature & Theology
      a quarterly peer-review journal, provides a critical non-confessional forum for both textual analysis and theoretical speculation, encouraging explorations of how religion is embedded in culture."
    • MFS Modern Fiction Series
      "Modern Fiction Studies publishes engaging articles on prominent works of modern and contemporary fiction."
    • Narrative
      Narrative's broad range of scholarship includes the English, American, and European novel, nonfiction narrative, film, and narrative as used in performance art.
    • New Literary History
      "...Focuses on theory and interpretation-the reasons for literary change, the definitions of periods, and the evolution of styles, conventions, and genres."
    • Poetics
      Poetics is an interdisciplinary journal of theoretical and empirical research on culture, the media and the arts.
    • Poetics Today
      concerned with developing systematic approaches to the study of literature & with applying such approaches to the interpretation of literary works.
    • SAQ (South Atlantic Quarterly)
      published exclusively in special issues, SAQ is tackling embattled states, evaluating postmodernity's influential writers and intellectuals, and examining a wide range of cultural phenomena.
    • Small Axe
      Small Axe focuses on the renewal of practices of intellectual criticism. It recognizes a tradition of social, political, and cultural criticism in and about regional/disasporic Caribbean.
    • Wide Angle
      "Wide Angle presents some of today's foremost scholarship in film studies and examines a variety of topics ranging from international cinema to the history and aesthetics of film."
    • The Cambridge Quarterly
      The Cambridge Quarterly is a journal of literary criticism which also publishes articles on cinema, the visual arts, and music.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip