Search tips for databases, book catalogs and even Google
Works by MFA faculty in SNC Library
This is the "Literary Journals" page of the "Library Resources for Creative Writing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Resources for Creative Writing   Tags: articles, books, catalog, databases, faculty, library, literary criticism, literature, reference, research, resources, searching  

Last Updated: Dec 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sierranevada.edu/MFA Print Guide RSS Updates

Literary Journals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Literary Journals on Prim Library Shelves

Alaska Quarterly Review

Georgia Review

Kenyon Review

Lapham's Quarterly

New england Review

Ploughshares

Southwest Review

Yale Review

 

  New Opportunity!

 

 Floorboard Review  Floorboard Review is an online journal that celebrates some of the most beautiful moments in contemporary poetry and photography. 

Select Literary Journals -online via SNC Library

These journals are available through the library's subscription databases. When accessing from off campus, you will be prompted to log-in.  After logging in you should be able to move from database to database until you close your browser.

  

  • American Poetry Review
    1994 to present. Contemporary poetry, fiction, social commentary, opinion, translations and reviews for a general audience.
  • Antioch Review
    01/01/1990 to present. Prints essays, fiction, poetry, and book reviews, with occasional special issues on topics of contemporary interest and importance.
  • Beloit Poetry Journal
    For over sixty years of continuous publication, the Beloit Poetry Journal has published poetry that matters. We have been distinguished for the extraordinary range of our poetry and our discovery of strong new poets.
  • Boulevard
    Full Text: 09/01/2004 to present. Includes contemporary fiction, essays, poetry, interviews & graphic art.
  • Chicago Review
    1990 to present. An international journal of writing and cultural exchange that publishes poetry, fiction, translations, essays, interviews, reviews, art, and drama.
  • Five Points
    Full Text: 06/01/2006 to present.Contents include fiction, poetry, essays, photographs, artwork, and interviews.
  • Fourth Genre
    Publishes notable, innovative work in nonfiction. The journal includes works ranging from personal essays and memoirs to literary journalism and personal criticism.

  • Harvard Review
    2004 to present. Publishes poetry, fiction, essays, & drama.
  • Hudson Review
    09/01/2001 to present. A quarterly magazine dedicated to literature and the arts, including essays, fiction, poetry, book reviews and comment.
  • Kenyon Review
    From 1979 to present. An international journal of literature, culture and the arts including poetry, fiction, drama, essays and reviews.
  • Literary Review
    From 1982 to the present. International contemporary writing, essays, poetry, drama, criticism and translations, and occasional special issues on a specific subject.
  • Massachusetts Review
    1990 to present. Articles of literature, the arts and public affairs published with the support and cooperation of Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith College and the University of Massachusetts.
  • New England Review
    Full text 01/01/2006 to present. Blend of fiction, poetry, and nonfiction that is both challenging and inviting to the general reader.
  • Oxford literary review
    2007 to present (with a 12 Month delay) Concerned with the history and development of deconstructive thinking in all areas of intellectual, cultural and political life.
  • Ploughshares
    03/01/1990 to present. Fiction, poetry, essays, commentary and reviews guest-edited serially by prominent writers, who explore different and personal visions, aesthetics and literary circles.
  • Poetry
    1998 to present. Poetry, commentary news notes and lists of recently published books published by the Modern Poetry Association.

  • Sewanee Review
    From 1990 to present. A literary quarterly devoted to criticism, fiction and poetry.
  • Southern Literary Journal
    From 03/1993 to present. The Southern Literary Journal is concerned with the literary and intellectual life of the American South.
  • Southern Review
    01/01/1990 to present. Essays, fiction, poetry and reviews by known and unknown writers.
  • Southwest Review
    01/01/1990 to present. Essays, interviews, fiction and poetry published quarterly at Southern Methodist University.
  • Virginia Quarterly Review
    01/01/1990 to present. A national journal of literature and discussion published by the University of Virginia. Articles, poetry, fiction and discussions of recent books of note.
  • Worcester Review
    03/01/2006 to present. Poetry, fiction and graphics, and critical articles with a New England connection.

Select Online Journals-Literary

McSweeney’s

 

McSweeney’s began in 1998 as a literary journal, edited by Dave Eggers, that published only works rejected by other magazines. But after the first issue, the journal began to publish pieces primarily written with McSweeney’s in mind. Since then, McSweeney’s has attracted works from some of the finest writers in the country, including Denis Johnson, William T. Vollmann, Rick Moody, Joyce Carol Oates, Heidi Julavits, Jonathan Lethem, Michael Chabon, Ben Marcus, Susan Straight, Roddy Doyle, T.C. Boyle, Steven Millhauser, Gabe Hudson, Robert Coover, Ann Beattie, and many others.

Today, McSweeney’s has grown to be one of the country’s best-read and widely-circulated literary journals...committed to finding new voices.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip