This is the "Finding Journal Articles" page of the "Library Resources for Outdoor Adventure Leadership (ODAL)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Resources for Outdoor Adventure Leadership (ODAL)   Tags: articles, books, camping, education, hiking, instruction, library, recreation, research, resources, sierra nevada, sustainability  

Last Updated: Apr 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sierranevada.edu/ODAL Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Easier Remote Access

When you want to access SNC's licensed database content from off campus, you will need the following information:

·     Students: Use your first initial and your last name as the username and your 9 digit student ID number as the password.

·     Faculty/Staff: Use your SNC email username as the username and your SNCSIS ID number  as the password.

 

 If you have questions or problems, please contact the library at library@sierranevada.edu.

 

Misc

Journals/Articles

  • Environment Complete (EBSCO) Full text database covering , ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more
  • Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (LIRN) Includes several subfiles including Ecology Abstracts and Environmental Impact Statement Abstracts
  • LexisNexis Full text of national and regional newspapers, broadcast transcripts, international news, some environmental journals, federal and state laws, and more

Selected Databases

  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    Academic Search Premier provides full text of more than 4700 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, health science, education, and multi-cultural journals. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8200 journals. Full-text and indexing go as far back as 1975.
  • BioOne  Icon
    This resource is useful for somewhat broad environmental topics like "land ethics", or tourism effects. Covers 1989-Present
  • GREENR  Icon
    Global reference on the environment, energy, and natural resources.
  • GreenFILE  Icon
    GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
 

Sampling of Articles

Ecology and Task Structures in Adventure Education - Journal of Experiential Education, 2009

Leave No Child Inside - Sierra. 2006

Promise on the Prairie - Sierra, 2009

The Benefits of Outdoor Education Experiences on Today's Youth - North American Association of Environmental Education, 2007

The Case for Interdisciplinary Environmental Education and Research - American Journal of Environmental Sciences, 2009

The Power of Nature and the Nature of Power - Canadian Journal of Environmental Education, 2009

Using the Significant Life Experience Framework to Inform Program Evaluation: The Nature Conservancy's Wings & Water Wetlands Education Program - Journal of Environmental Education, 2009

 

Using Databases

Articles that appear in periodicals--such as newspapers, magazines, or scholarly journals--are good resources to use in your research as they can support an argument, explain a topic, or provide additionalperspectives on an issue.

The library subscribes to databases to provide access to a wide variety of articles.  They content contained in these databases are typically not freely available on the internet.  When searching on the free interenet, you may find articles that request payment for access.  But with the library databases, the library (your tuition) is paying for that access for you.  Please don't every pay to download an article from the interst--talk to a library or email library@sierranevada.edu and we can most likely get a copy for you at no charge. 

 

Journals Available in Library

This is a list of magazines that Prim Library subscribes to the print versions of that may aid you in your research projects in Outdoor Adventure Leadership.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip