Database Vendors and Instructions
This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "Library Resources for Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Resources for Education   Tags: articles, books, education, library, resources  

Last Updated: Jun 21, 2016 URL: http://libguides.sierranevada.edu/edu Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Helpful Tips

Be sure to search ERIC within the EBSCO framework.  Many articles and documents will be available in full-text format and you can use the interlibrary loan request link to request articles not immediately available. 

 

Full-Text Finder

Looking for a specific journal?  Full-Text Finder links users to journals available through any Sierra Nevada College Library database.  It is possible to locate journals by title and subject. 

Find:
Full-Text Finder is not an article database, it is a portal to database availability within the library collection. If you are accessing the library from offi-campus, you will be able to use this resource, however, the database links will need Sierra Nevada College authentication through logins and passwords.

Find Journal Articles

Journal Literature and Information Sources for Education

The most efficient work pattern, especially when starting a research project, may be to use the EBSCO product.  The databases in EBSCO that are recommended are: Academic Search Premier, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, and PsycInfo. You can search all of these simultaneously when in the EBSCO interface. EBSCO includes interlibrary loan request links. PsycInfo is a huge index to citations/abstracts from the scholarly literature of psychology from 1887-present.
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    covers the full gamut of education topics. Check Full-text and Peer-reviewed to limit your results to scholarly, full-text journal articles contained in the service. Education Full Text also contains a great many professional magazines about classroom techniques. It provides citations/abstracts from 1929-present and full-text articles from 1990-present.
  • ERIC (EBSCOhost)  
      
      Icon
    A service of the Educational Resource Information Center, ERIC is one of the most valuable research resources in education, especially for the "gray literature" of the field, research literature that is not published or disseminated commercially. Documents range in scope from informational materials to substantial, rigorously researched and reviewed research syntheses, conference papers, and policy reports.
  • Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    This resource provides full-text articles, citations and abstracts from over 800 research and professional journals and magazines in education. While many articles also appear in other services, Professional Development Collection does have unique titles and should be consulted separately.
  • PSYCInfo (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    Provides citations/abstracts to the scholarly literature of psychology from 1887-present. It covers all aspects of psychology, including educational psychology, human growth and development, and cognition. This database provides indexing and abstracting to several million citations. EBSCO automatically links to all full-text articles that are available within the vendor. An interlibrary loan link is provided to request materials not available in full-text format.
 

Journal Locator

You may have an assignment that asks you to read articles from a list of journals provided by your instructor.  Or, perhaps you have come across a citation to an article in something you have read and you want to find the full-text of the content. 

Using the Full-Text Finder, you can look up a journal by title and you will be able to determine which online research service that SNC subscribes contains full-text articles from the specific publication.

Let's say you want to read articles from Journal of Research in Reading. Here's how to proceed.

  • If you do this first, you will proceed much more smoothly and with less frustration.
    • If you are off-campus, click here (search.ebscohost.com) and use the login and password you have been provided.  Minimize the window on your screen. 
    • Click on the link in the left-hand column of this page named Find Journals by Title.  
  • When the Full-Text Finders opens, type in Journal of Research in Reading.
  • When the search results are displayed, if the desired title is available, the resource will have a direct link to the ful-text. You can then search within the publication to locate specific articles.  
 

Top Five Journals in Education

  • American Educational Research Journal
  • Educational Researcher
  • Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis
  • Review of Educational Research
  • Phi Delta Kappan

While these journals may not be available full-text from within SNC's available databases, they are indexed in the databases and are accessible through interlibrary loan by clicking on the request link in EBSCO.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip